Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Atlanta Winter

Not much to report as it's been cold and rainy here in the south.  My van is in storage about 30 miles away but I think I will move it to my driveway this weekend.   It's new to me as I've owned it less than a month.  My first order of business will be to get it into the Ford dealer for a through check over and engine analysis. 

She  (I think its a she)  runs well but hasn't been used much in the last year or so.  I've saved some money and will insure that mechanically its sound before I attend to more comfort and convenience items.   I admit I've got to learn a few things about owning and operating a diesel.

I'm happy to report that its already equipped with a solar system and roof top heat/air.   The interior is in pretty good shape.  I'll customize it to my specifications but I really don't have a lot to do.  I'll nit pick over it and put a lot of thought into what and where to store my desired necessities.

One thing I LOVE is that I'm 6 foot 5 and I can stand in it.   Pretty much the deciding factor in the purchase.

Looking forward to the whole things.   Many thanks to my tribe at Vandwellers for all the help and inspiration.


Saturday, January 15, 2011

My story

My name is Kenny and I'm a 52 yo single male living in the Atlanta area.   I'm a year or more away from starting to travel the roads of America full time.   My long career as a IT professional is coming to a close as I'm self employed and my current long term contract will be ending within the next 12 to 18 months.

I have a couple of dogs,  Bella and Gracie, both of which will be coming with me.  I've recently purchased a 1995 Ford E350 Cutaway Diesel Van and will be working towards making her roadworthy and livable in the next year.

I spend a lot of time studying the lifestyle of Van Dwellers.   I plan to migrate out west and basically follow the weather.  I was born in Cheyenne Wyoming and spend many happy years in Denver so I feel it's a home coming to me.

Couple of pics:

My wonderful dogs  Bella (white) and Gracie

My Van